I Asked the Lord

I love this song “I Asked the Lord” by John Newton (he is the same author who wrote “Amazing Grace”). Today it just really resonated with me. I ask the Lord for so many things, and lately I have been asking Him to take away many struggles in my life. In my mind I say it’s right because if these struggles go away I can serve Him more. Oh but the Lord knows my heart. I believe He is telling me, “Whitney, if I completely take these struggles away, you will forget your need for Me.” He has used them for His good. In the moments the struggles come He hears me pray. In the moments He brings me through the struggles He hears this sinner praise Him, thank Him.

By God’s grace did I come across this John Newton song today. Newton felt the same way I was feeling earlier today! What a beautiful way God works through His people.

I have attached the youtube video so you can hear the song. Of course it’s not John Newton singing. I don’t think they had youtube back in his day…let alone internet…or computers…or even any electronic devises :). Oh, and click the red bubble at the bottom right of the video if you get ads blocking the lyrics.

Enjoy.


One response to “I Asked the Lord

Leave a comment